Skip to main content

Research Databases

Cornell users only, except BMS, DDM, and RISM via Zentralredaktion.

International and interactive bibliography of literature on music from 1950 to the present.

This website provides links to substantial open-access projects of use to musicians and musicologists. With a burgeoning number of digital resources available, remembering titles of sites and pathways to them can be difficult. Digital Resources in Musicology (DRM) is organized topically and provides a rapid search tool for specialties within heterogeneous collections. Neither the links or their descriptions are exhaustive. From the Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities.

International database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.

Comprehensive online resource devoted to research on world music. Includes essays, images, and audio examples. Included in Music Online.

Database of records that include authoritative, detailed, multilingual descriptions of digital images, texts, video clips, sound recordings, and complex media objects related to the performing arts around the world, plus information about related pieces, productions, performers, and creators.

Archive of articles from scholarly journals in various disciplines. Most recent issues not included.

International index to music periodicals from 1973 to the present. Includes writings on popular and classical music. Access is via EBSCO.

Formerly known as Academic Charts Online. A single search of international charting albums and singles under exclusive academic licence from Billboard, the Official Charts Company. Sophisticated tools allow you to interpret, graph, analyse, compare and contrast musical trends and interactions at the touch of a button. Listen to audio samples for each track and album quickly and easily.

Orchestral Music Online is the most recent iteration of David Daniels's classic repertoire reference work used by conductors, orchestras, musicians, and musicologists throughout the world. This new online version, based on the critically acclaimed fourth edition of the printed reference work Orchestral Music: A Handbook (2005, Scarecrow Press), provides greater and easier access to more information on composers and works.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in Music and other subject areas.

The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin.

Definitive music reference source. Includes Grove Music Online (which combines The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed.), The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The Oxford Companion to Music, and Encyclopedia of Popular Music.

Comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writings on music from 1967 to the present. Access is via EBSCO.

International index to music periodicals, 1800-1950. Includes access to the RIPM Full-Text Online Archive. Access is via EBSCO.

Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600. Access is via the Zentralredaktion, the Bavarian State Library, and the State Library of Berlin.

Archive of rock journalism. Includes rock reviews, articles, and interviews from the late 1950s to the present day.